AGENDA

3 Sep 2021

Opening
SEEMINGLY INCURABLE SENSATION OF TEMPORAL AMBIGUITY

17:00-21:00
10 Jul 2021

Our Own Psalmody
Sonic poetry
Hosted by Sandar Tun Tun

19:00-23:00
5 Jun 2021
16:00-21:00

Empty Spaces. What are we living for?, 6.2. – 20.2.2021

Laurent Güdel

Vitrine Vernissage
Saturday, 6.2.2021

Vitrine Karaoké
Friday, 12.2.2021
Friday, 19.2.2021

Agenda


In accordance with the sanitary directives from January 2021, the physical opening of KRONE COURONNE, alongside its first exhibition BIENNOPHONE, have been postponed. In the meantime, the space is inviting local artists, one by one, to take over the two large rooms and the wide-open windows of the empty premises – giving passers-by a look into the space while it remains closed.

The inaugural intervention is dedicated to Biel/Bienne-based artist Laurent Güdel (1984) who presents a site-specific installation titled Empty Spaces. What are we living for?, which is on view from the street and through the arched windows of the space from 6 to 20 February 2021.

In reaction to the current crisis and its consequences for the cultural community, Güdel stages a deserted party, with a soundless DJ set, an abandoned microphone, a rotating disco ball and a silent running karaoke. The elements are there, positioned in the room, awaiting the visitors to return, while reminding us what is currently so missed: music, encounters, embrace and laughter to fill the rooms. It is not time to dance, yet the show must go on.

Photo credits: © Adva Guttel

Known for many years as Alte Krone/Ancienne Couronne, these exhibition rooms are now taking the form of a space for contemporary art with a consolidated programme, that is dedicated to supporting the local art scene and nurturing cultural exchange with artists and cultural practitioners from all corners of the country – and beyond.

Closed for the summer

AGENDA

3 Sep. 2021

Vernissage
SEEMINGLY INCURABLE SENSATION OF TEMPORAL AMBIGUITY

17:00-21:00
10 Juli 2021

Our Own Psalmody
Klang-Poesie
Veranstaltet von Sandar Tun Tun

19:00-23:00
5 Juni 2021
16:00-21:00

Empty Spaces. What are we living for?, 6.2. – 20.2.2021

Laurent Güdel

Vitrine Vernissage
Samstag, 6.2.2021

Vitrine Karaoké
Freitag, 12.2.2021
Freitag, 19.2.2021

Agenda


In Anbetracht der vom Bundesrat im Januar 2021 angekündigten Gesundheitsrichtlinien wurden die physische Eröffnung der KRONE COURONNE sowie die erste Ausstellung BIENNOPHONE verschoben. Währenddessen lädt die KRONE COURONNE lokale Künstlerinnen dazu ein, sich nacheinander die leeren Räumlichkeiten anzueignen und bereits bestehende oder neue Werke zu präsentieren, um so den Passantinnen von aussen einen Blick in die derzeit geschlossenen Räume zu ermöglichen.

Den Auftakt macht der Beitrag des Bieler Künstlers Laurent Güdel (1984). Seine ortsspezifische Installation Empty Spaces. What are we living for?, ist vom 6. bis zum 20. Februar 2021 von der Strasse aus durch die grossen Fenster der Ausstellungsräume sichtbar.

Als Reaktion auf die aktuelle Krise und ihre Folgen für die Kulturlandschaft inszeniert Güdel eine verlassene Party: ein DJ-Set ohne Ton, ein zurückgelassenes Mikrofon sowie eine Discokugel und eine Karaoke-Anlage, die ins Leere laufen. Alle Bestandteile sind da, stehen im Raum, warten auf die Rückkehr der Besucherinnen und erinnern an das, was derzeit schmerzlich vermisst wird: Musik, Begegnungen, Umarmungen und raumfüllendes Lachen. Obwohl es noch nicht Zeit zum Tanzen ist, the show must go on*.

Photo: © Adva Guttel

Die seit vielen Jahren als Alte Krone/Ancienne Couronne bekannten Ausstellungsräume werden dieses Jahr in ein Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst umgewandelt. Ihr dichtes Programm strebt die Unterstützung der lokalen Kunstszene und Förderung vom kulturellen Austausch mit Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffenden aus allen Teilen des Landes – und darüber hinaus – an.

Geschlossen für den Sommer