AGENDA

6 Jun 2024

Vernissage Kunsthalle Bern Mathias C. Pfund et al.

18:00
20 Jun 2024

Vernissage HKB CAP Diploma Festival

18:00
5 Jul 2024

Vernissage Rachele Monti

18:00

FIRST IMPRESSIONS, 15.3. – 20.4.2024

Christiane Blattmann, Ève Gabriel Chabanon, Wim De Pauw, Doris Hardeman, Paola Siri Renard, touche–touche

Vernissage
Fr, 15.3.2024, 18:00
20:00 Performance Monika Stalder
21:30 Dj set dekeizer

Event
Thu, 4.4.2024, 18:30
Listening Monika Stalder
Reading Wim De Pauw


How to capture the moment of a first encounter? Does a first impression disappear at the second impression, does it dissipate with time or remain forever unchanged?

In the course of a research trip to Brussels last year, we met several artists through fortuitous relationships. It all started with a first impression, a connection that made us want to see each other again.

Some of these artists are invited to KRONE COURONNE, interlaced in a spatial constellation with no specific theme but a certainty: their radiance in Switzerland. For some, this means being exposed to a first impression, or perhaps a second or third impression. Based on the exchange and apparent flux between Brussels and Biel/Bienne, the collective exhibition FIRST IMPRESSIONS delineates an encounter. Indeed, the two cities share a similar character through bilingualism industrial and heterogeneous history - a whole that nurtures a dynamic artistic and musical culture.

With no premeditation as to the works chosen, the exhibition is inhabited by an anachronistic aesthetic that shies away from classical codes. It oscillates between organic and architectural forms, ornament and functionality, mutation and simulation. Walls speak and open up to other worlds. Objects metamorphose and weave connections. A multitude of narratives intertwine within the space, giving shape to intriguing poetry.

The title of this exhibition refers to a work by artist Wim De Pauw created at WIELS Brussels after an encounter at his exhibition at Lokal-int in Biel/Bienne in 2021. Drawing from different definitions of a first impression, the artist invokes the image of the “ouroboros”, the snake that bites off its tail as a symbol of eternal return.

The exhibition is a tandem project with open space for contemporary art Komplot in Brussels, which will host Bieler artists during Brussels Gallery Weekend in September 2024.

Summer exhibition (no opening hours)

AGENDA

6 juin 2024

Vernissage Kunsthalle Bern Mathias C. Pfund et al.

18:00
20 juin 2024

Vernissage HKB CAP Diploma Festival

18:00
5 juil. 2024

Vernissage Rachele Monti

18:00

FIRST IMPRESSIONS, 15.3. – 20.4.2024

Christiane Blattmann, Ève Gabriel Chabanon, Wim De Pauw, Doris Hardeman, Paola Siri Renard, touche–touche

Vernissage
Ve, 15.3.2024, 18:00
20:00 Performance Monika Stalder
21:30 Dj set dekeizer

Evénement
Je, 4.4.2024, 18:30
Listening Monika Stalder
Lecture Wim De Pauw


Comment mettre en évidence le moment d’une première rencontre? Est-ce que la première impression disparaît au moment de la deuxième, se dissipe-t-elle avec le temps ou reste-elle inchangée?

Au cours d’un voyage de recherche à Bruxelles l’année dernière, nous avons rencontré plusieurs artistes par le biais de relations fortuites, de liens noués par d’autres. Tout s’est déclenché au tournant d’une première impression, une connection inhabituelle qui donne envie de se revoir.

Plusieurs de ces artistes se retrouvent aujourd’hui invité.e.s à KRONE COURONNE, entrelacés dans une constellation spatiale, sans thème évident mais une évidence toute fois: leur rayonnement en Suisse. Pour certain.e.s, cela signifie s’exposer à une première impression, ou peut-être à une deuxième, troisième impression. L'exposition FIRST IMPRESSIONS s'appuie sur l’échange et le flux apparent entre Bruxelles et Bienne pour composer une première rencontre. En effet, les deux villes partagent un caractère similaire, que ce soit par leur bilinguisme ou leur histoire industrielle et hétérogène - un tout qui nourrit une riche culture artistique et musicale.

Sans préméditation quant aux oeuvres choisies, l’exposition est habitée par un esthétique anachronique qui se dérobe des codes classiques. Elle oscille entre formes organiques et architecturales, ornement et fonctionnalité, mutation et simulation. Les murs parlent et s’ouvrent à d’autres mondes. Les objets se métamorphosent et tissent des liens. Un ensemble de récits s’insère dans l’espace, donnant corps à une poésie formelle intrigante.

Le titre de l’exposition s’inspire d’une pièce de l'artiste Wim De Pauw montrée au WIELS à Bruxelles après une rencontre faite lors de son exposition au Lokal-int à Biel/Bienne en 2021. S'inspirant de différentes définitions d’une première impression, l'artiste invoque l'image de l'"ouroboros", le serpent qui se mord la queue comme symbole de l’éternel retour.

L'exposition est un projet tandem avec l'espace d'art contemporain Komplot à Bruxelles, qui accueillera les artistes de Bienne pendant le Brussels Gallery Weekend en septembre 2024.

Exposition d'été (pas d'heures d'ouverture)