AGENDA

3 Sep 2021

Opening
SEEMINGLY INCURABLE SENSATION OF TEMPORAL AMBIGUITY

17:00-21:00
10 Jul 2021

Our Own Psalmody
Sonic poetry
Hosted by Sandar Tun Tun

19:00-23:00
5 Jun 2021
16:00-21:00

BIENNOPHONE, 26.2. – 25.4.2021

Mirja Curtius, Marcel Freymond, Raphael Hefti, Jeanne Jacob, Florence Jung, Raphael Loosli, Nora Renaud, Vera Trachsel

Residencies and exhibition project
26 February – 25 April 2021

Opening hours
Fr 16 April, 3-9 pm
Sa 17 April, 12 am-4 pm
Su April, 12 am-4 pm
Th 22 April, 3-7 pm
Fr 23 April, 3-7 pm
Sa 24 April, 12 am-4 pm
Su 25 April, 12 am-4 pm

See the agenda


“Words have meanings: some words, however, also have a ‘feel’. The word ‘community’ is one of them.”

In the essay Community (2000) Zygmunt Bauman explores the notion of “community” as a place that we vehemently desire. For him, the word has a feel; a feel that could be perceived as the wish to create bonds with others, to welcome and be welcomed, to offer a space for conversation and to be heard.

BIENNOPHONE is a residency and collective exhibition project that engages with the topics of community and togetherness in the name of the city that opened its doors to the new space’s initiative. For eight weeks, the eight invited artists of BIENNOPHONE are occupying the spaces of KRONE COURONNE one week after the other, leaving behind existing, in process or newly produced works. Conceived as an evolutive and accumulative project, the exhibition will culminate in its full form in April 2021.

BIENNOPHONE is the combination of the words “Bienne” and “phone” as the etymological term for “voice”. Indeed, the eight invited artists are in one way or another tied to the city of Biel/Bienne, whether born and raised, de passage or new to the city. BIENNOPHONE is also the name of the historic Swiss radio manufacturing brand first produced in Biel/Bienne in 1925, at that time still in the form of a gramophone. Despite its disappearance from the Swiss market in 1988, the BIENNOPHONE has become heritage and here takes the form of a metaphor of the collective voice.

The BIENNOPHONE sounds, resonates, crackles, informs and distorts. Like a megaphone, the exhibition projects the voice of the Biel/Bienne artists to the outside.

Vitrine Residencies
26.02. – 06.03.2021 Mirja Curtius
07.03. – 13.03.2021 Nora Renaud
14.03. – 20.03.2021 Marcel Freymond
21.03. – 27.03.2021 Raphael Loosli
28.03. – 03.04.2021 Vera Trachsel
04.04. – 10.04.2021 Jeanne Jacob
11.04. – 17.04.2021 Raphael Hefti
18.04. – 25.04.2021 Florence Jung

Exhibition text (PDF)

The exhibition programme is supported by:
City of Biel/Bienne
Canton of Bern
Stiftung GVB
Temperatio

Closed for the summer

AGENDA

3 sept. 2021

Vernissage
SEEMINGLY INCURABLE SENSATION OF TEMPORAL AMBIGUITY

17:00-21:00
10 juil. 2021

Our Own Psalmody
Poésie sonore
Proposée par Sandar Tun Tun

19:00-23:00
5 juin 2021
16:00-21:00

BIENNOPHONE, 26.2. – 25.4.2021

Mirja Curtius, Marcel Freymond, Raphael Hefti, Jeanne Jacob, Florence Jung, Raphael Loosli, Nora Renaud, Vera Trachsel

Résidences et projet d’exposition
26 février – 25 avril 2021

Horaires d’ouverture
Ve 16 avril, 15-21h
Sa 17 avril, 12-16h
Di 18 avril, 12-16h
Je 22 avril, 15-19h
Ve 23 avril, 15-19h
Sa 24 avril, 12-16h
Di 25 avril, 12-16h

Voir l’agenda


“Words have meanings: some words, however, also have a ‘feel’. The word ‘community’ is one of them.”

Dans son essai Community (2000) Zygmunt Bauman explore la notion de «communauté» comme un lieu que nous désirons ardemment. C’est pour lui un terme qui procure un sentiment; un sentiment perçu comme le désir de créer des liens avec autrui, d’accueillir et d’être accueilli·e, d’offrir un espace pour échanger, parler et être écouté·e.

BIENNOPHONE est un projet de résidences et une exposition collective qui met l’accent sur l’esprit de communauté et de rassemblement, à l’image de la ville qui a ouvert ses portes au nouvel espace. Pendant huit semaines, les huit artistes invité·es occupent les espaces de la KRONE COURONNE, l’un·e après l’autre, laissant derrière elles et eux des pièces existantes, nouvelles ou encore en production. Pensée comme un projet évolutif et cumulatif, l’exposition culmine dans sa forme intégrale au mois d’avril 2021.

BIENNOPHONE est la combinaison des mots «Bienne» et «phone», terme étymologique pour la voix. Les huit artistes invité·es sont en effet lié·es d'une manière ou d’une autre à la ville de Biel/Bienne, qu’ils y soient né·es, y aient grandi, soient de passage, ou nouvelles et nouveaux. BIENNOPHONE est aussi le nom d’une marque historique de fabrication de radios suisses qui a pris son nom à Biel/Bienne en 1925, alors sous forme d’un gramophone. Malgré sa disparition du marché suisse en 1988, le BIENNOPHONE devient patrimoine et ici prend la forme métaphorique de la voix collective.

Le BIENNOPHONE sonne, résonne, crépite, informe et déforme. Comme un mégaphone, cette exposition projette la voix des artistes biennois·es vers l'extérieur.

Vitrine Résidences
26.02. – 06.03.2021 Mirja Curtius
07.03. – 13.03.2021 Nora Renaud
14.03. – 20.03.2021 Marcel Freymond
21.03. – 27.03.2021 Raphael Loosli
28.03. – 03.04.2021 Vera Trachsel
04.04. – 10.04.2021 Jeanne Jacob
11.04. – 17.04.2021 Raphael Hefti
18.04. – 25.04.2021 Florence Jung

Texte d’exposition (PDF)

Le programme d’expositions est soutenu par:
Ville de Biel/Bienne
Canton de Berne
AIB/GVB-Stiftung
Temperatio

Fermé pour l'été