AGENDA

6 Jun 2024

Vernissage Kunsthalle Bern Mathias C. Pfund et al.

18:00
20 Jun 2024

Vernissage HKB CAP Diploma Festival

18:00
5 Jul 2024

Vernissage Rachele Monti

18:00

MISS DMZ, 26.1. – 2.3.2024

YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES

Vernissage
Fr, 26.1.2024, 18:00
21:30 Dj Maestrotchang


KRONE COURONNE is happy to present a video work by Seoul-based collective YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES (YHCHI), consisting of South Korean artist Young-Hae Chang and North American artist Marc Voge. YHCHI is a pioneering net art project, established at the onset of the internet era, which allowed artists to exhibit their work without the endorsement of an institution. Then, as now, net art transcended geographical and cultural boundaries, while also challenging prejudice and aesthetic conformity within the art world.

The work of YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES took the early internet as a productive medium for a more expansive practice and explores a wide range of social and political issues, from the excess and futility of the art world to the dangers of climate change. Through an emblematic fast-paced text-based language, their signature flash-animation form hasn’t varied much since their formation in 1999. In a practice parallel to concrete poetry, the text-driven narratives are flashed sentence by sentence over a coloured backdrop, oftentimes set to self-composed jazz soundtracks, harnessing the jazz aesthetic. Drawing comparisons to propaganda and advertising strategies, YHCHI ventures into an ethical limn between representation and oppression, truth and fiction in the digital era.

The video work MISS DMZ, translated and adapted for the presentation in KRONE COURONNE, tells a story of doors and tunnels, martinis and casino chips, addressing the political reality of the DMZ – the demilitarized zone dividing North and South Korea, established in 1953 after the Korean war.

Summer exhibition (no opening hours)

AGENDA

6 Juni 2024

Vernissage Kunsthalle Bern Mathias C. Pfund et al.

18:00
20 Juni 2024

Vernissage HKB CAP Diploma Festival

18:00
5 Juli 2024

Vernissage Rachele Monti

18:00

MISS DMZ, 26.1. – 2.3.2024

YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES

Vernissage
Fr, 26.1.2024, 18:00
21:30 Dj Maestrotchang


KRONE COURONNE freut sich, eine Videoarbeit des in Seoul ansässigen Kollektivs YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES (YHCHI) zu präsentieren, das aus dem südkoreanischen Künstler Young-Hae Chang und dem nordamerikanischen Künstler Marc Voge gebildet wird. YHCHI ist ein Pionierprojekt der Netzkunst, das zu Beginn des Internetzeitalters gegründet wurde und es Künstlern ermöglichte, ihre Werke ohne die Unterstützung einer Institution auszustellen. Damals wie heute überschreitet Netzkunst geografische und kulturelle Grenzen und stellt gleichzeitig Vorurteile und ästhetische Konformität innerhalb der Kunstwelt in Frage.

Die Arbeiten von YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES nutzen das frühe Internet als produktives Medium für eine umfassendere Praxis und untersuchen ein breites Spektrum sozialer und politischer Themen, vom Exzess und der Sinnlosigkeit der Kunstwelt bis hin zu den Gefahren des Klimawandels. Ihre charakteristische Form der Flash-Animation hat sich seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1999 kaum verändert: eine emblematische, schnelle, textbasierte Sprache. Ähnlich der Konkreten Poesie werden die textgesteuerten Erzählungen Satz für Satz vor farbigem Hintergrund geblitzt, oft unterlegt mit selbstkomponierten Jazz-Soundtracks, die die Ästhetik des Jazz aufgreifen. Mit Vergleichen zu Propaganda- und Werbestrategien wagt sich YHCHI an die ethische Grenze zwischen Repräsentation und Verdrängung, Wahrheit und Fiktion im digitalen Zeitalter.

Die Videoarbeit MISS DMZ erzählt eine Geschichte von Eingängen und Tunneln, Martinis und Casinochips und setzt sich mit der politischen Realität der DMZ auseinander - der entmilitarisierten Zone, die Nord- und Südkorea trennt und 1953 nach dem Koreakrieg eingerichtet wurde.

Sommerausstellung (keine Öffnungszeiten)