AGENDA

3 Dec 2022
12:00-18:00
10 Dec 2022

BODILY SITUATIONS
Programme of performances

19:00-22:00

ECHOES, 10.6. – 16.7.2022

Lara Dâmaso with Nikima Jagudajev, Tarren Johnson, Mario Petrucci Espinoza

PART 1
Fr, 10.6.2022
18:00 Vernissage
19:00 Performance Lara Dâmaso
20:00 Dj set HAYA33
22:00 Dj set soungou

PART 2
Fr, 24.6.2022
19:00 Performance Mario Espinoza

Sa, 25.6.2022
19:00 Performances Nikima Jagudajev
20:00 Performance Tarren Johnson
21:00 Dj set Tina Omayemi Reden

Finissage
Sa, 16.7.2022, 12:00-18:00

Opening hours
Thu/Fr, 17:00-20:00
Sa/Su, 12:00-18:00


"The voice is stubbornly, insistently, unabashedly bodily"
– Adriana Cavarero, «For More Than One Voice: Towards a Philosophy of Vocal Expression» (2005)

ECHOES is a two-part exhibition in the form of a Carte Blanche to performance artist Lara Dâmaso (1996, Biel/Bienne, lives in Zurich), in which she continues her research on the agency of the voice and its intimate, emotional, therapeutic and political potential. The environment of KRONE COURONNE serves as a platform for her and the voices of her invited artists (Nikima Jagudajev, Tarren Johnson and Mario Petrucci Espinoza) in an attempt to access new forms of vocal communication, beyond language.

The artist sees voice as an equal medium to body movement and dance – an agent, which generates vibrations and connects the physical and emotional body to the environment in which it moves. To her, the voice's potential - as one of the most essential forms of human expression - is only partially explored, not to say ignored, feared or censored.

As stated in Anne Carson’s text “The Gender of Sound” (1995), feminine voices are connoted as emotional and shrill, while masculine ones reflect self-control, confidence and rationality. Breaking away from the dominant practice of logos, the voice - in its uncontrolled, dissonant and emotionally-complex dimension - invokes a plurality of singular voices that intertwine with one another. As Adriana Cavarero writes in “For More than One Voice: Towards a Philosophy of Vocal Expression” (2005): ‘[...] what is undeniable in the sound of each voice is the embodied, relational uniqueness of each existent’.

ECHOES is an invitation to dialogue and to open up space for voices to meet and respond to one another, to gain in corporeality and existence, and to become singular and political.

Press release (PDF) & Exhibition text by Olamiju Fajemisin

Exhibition generously supported by the foundations Gubler-Hablützel, Anne-Marie Schindler and Georg und Josi Guggenheim.

Photos: 1-14 © Guadalupe Ruiz, 15-25 © James Bantone.

AGENDA

3 Dez. 2022
12:00-18:00
10 Dez. 2022

BODILY SITUATIONS
Performanceprogramm

19:00-22:00

ECHOES, 10.6. – 16.7.2022

Lara Dâmaso mit Nikima Jagudajev, Tarren Johnson, Mario Petrucci Espinoza

PART 1
Fr, 10.6.2022
18:00 Vernissage
19:00 Performance Lara Dâmaso
20:00 Dj Set HAYA33
22:00 Dj Set soungou

PART 2
Fr, 24.6.2022
19:00 Performance Mario Espinoza

Sa, 25.6.2022
19:00 Performances Nikima Jagudajev
20:00 Performance Tarren Johnson
21:00 DJ Set Tina Omayemi Reden

Finissage
Sa, 16.7.2022, 12:00-18:00

Horaires d'ouverture
Do/Fr, 17:00-20:00
Sa/So, 12:00-18:00


«The voice is stubbornly, insistently, unabashedly bodily»
– Adriana Cavarero, «For More Than One Voice: Towards a Philosophy of Vocal Expression» (2005)

ECHOES ist eine Carte Blanche für die Performancekünstlerin Lara Dâmaso (1996, Biel/Bienne, lebt in Zürich). In der zweiteiligen Ausstellung setzt sie ihre anhaltende Forschungen über die Wirkung der Stimme und ihr intimes, emotionales, therapeutisches und politisches Potenzial fort. Die Räume der KRONE COURONNE ermöglichen es ihr und den Stimmen der weiteren von ihr eingeladenen Kunstschaffenden (Nikima Jagudajev, Tarren Johnson und Mario Petrucci Espinoza) dabei, neue Formen der vokalen Kommunikation jenseits der Sprache zu erschliessen.

Die Künstlerin sieht die Stimme als gleichberechtigtes Medium zur Körperbewegung und zum Tanz, das Schwingungen erzeugt und den physischen und emotionalen Körper mit seiner Umgebung verbindet. Als eine der wesentlichsten menschlichen Ausdrucksformen wird das Potenzial der Stimme jedoch nur bruchweise erforscht – um nicht zu sagen ignoriert, gefürchtet oder zensiert.

Wie in Anne Carsons Text «The Gender of Sound» (1995) dargelegt, gilt die weibliche Stimme als emotional und schrill, während die männliche Stimme Selbstbeherrschung, Vertrauen und Rationalität widerspiegelt. In Abkehr von der vorherrschenden Praxis des Logos gibt die Stimme in ihrer unkontrollierten, dissonanten und emotional komplexen Dimension eine Pluralität von Einzelstimmen hervor, die sich untereinander vereinen. Wie Adriana Cavarero in «For More than One Voice: Towards a Philosophy of Vocal Expression» (2005) schreibt: «[...] was im Klang jeder Stimme unbestreitbar ist, ist die verkörperte, relationale Einzigartigkeit jedes:r Existierenden.»

ECHOES ist eine Einladung zum Dialog und zur Eröffnung eines Raums, in dem sich die Stimmen begegnen und aufeinander reagieren, an Körperlichkeit und Existenz gewinnen und singulär und politisch werden können.

Press Release (PDF) & Ausstellungstext von Olamiju Fajemisin

Die Ausstellung wird unterstützt durch die Stiftungen von Gubler-Hablützel, Anne-Marie Schindler und Georg und Josi Guggenheim.

Photos: 1-14 © Guadalupe Ruiz, 15-25 © James Bantone.